Back to Worksuite Glossary

Holidays Act, 1951 (Malaysia)

Holidays Act, 1951 (Malaysia)

There are only 11 days of paid Public Holidays, out of which the employers may choose 6 out of 11, there are some special holidays the Minister may declare from time to time as special holidays.

However, the employers may nominate a replacement day for these holidays declared at short notice.
If the employers should require the employees to work during those holidays declared by the minister, the rate of pay is that of a public holiday.

Public Holiday are listed in the First Schedule of the Holidays Act. The 10 Public Holidays listed in the schedule is observed throughout Malaysia as follows:

  • Chinese New Year
  • Wesak Day
  • Hari Raya Aidilfitri – 2 days Merdeka Day (31 August)
  • Hari Raya Haji
  • Agong’s Birthday
  • Malaysia Day (16 September)
  • Deepavali
  • Prophet Muhammad’s Birthday
  • Christmas Day (25 December)

It is interesting to note that only one day for Chinese New Year holiday in the States of Kelantan and Terengganu, two days in the other States while two days Hari Raya Haji holiday in the States of Kelantan and Terengganu, one day in the other States.

Transform your contingent workforce

Find out how easy it is to organize, automate and scale your external workforce operations with Worksuite.

Contact Sales