Back to Worksuite Glossary

Employment Permits Acts, 2003–2014

Employment Permits Acts, 2003–2014

The Employment Permits Acts 2003–2014 provide for 8 different types of employment permits:

  • Critical Skills Employment Permit – This is is for skilled workers who are qualified in professions where there is a shortage of skills in Ireland
  • General Employment Permit – Allows one to work in occupations where there is a labour shortage in Ireland. A permit to work can be acquired in any job that is not on the Ineligible List of Occupations for Employment Permits, and subject to the other qualifying criteria.
  • Contract for Service Employment Permit – This is intended for employees who are working for a company that has a contract with an Irish business or body to carry out work in Ireland.
  • Internship Employment Permit – This is for full-time students in a college outside of the EEA and wants to get work experience in Ireland.
  • Sport and Cultural Employment Permit – This is for for jobs in the sport and cultural sectors in Ireland.
  • Exchange Agreement Employment Permit – This is for employeesare coming to Ireland through one of the following programmes:
  2. The International Association for the Exchange of Students for Technical Experience (IAESTE)
  3. The Fulbright Programme
  4. The Bord Bia exchange agreement between St Joseph’s University, Philadelphia and UCC for food marketing students
  5. Vulcanus in Europe Programme (Ireland)
  • Intra-Company Transfer Employment Permits – This is for employees who work for a multinational company and are transferred to the company’s Irish branch
  • Reactivation Employment Permit – This is for those were working in Ireland with an employment permit, and became undocumented through no fault of their own, or were badly treated by their employer

Transform your contingent workforce

Find out how easy it is to organize, automate and scale your external workforce operations with Worksuite.

Contact Sales